Missoula County

Missoula County, Montana, covers approximately 2,600 square miles in the western part of the state. Five large valleys and two major rivers wind through this mountainous region. Missoula County has a population of more than 100,000 people and the county seat is the city of Missoula.

The present Courthouse (200 West Broadway, Missoula, MT 59802), was designed by A.J. Gibson, Missoula’s premier architect. Construction began in 1908 and the Courthouse was completed in 1910. The neoclassical sandstone block building is crowned by a four-sided clock tower with a two-ton bell that rings on the half hour and hour. An annex was added to the north side of the building in 1966. The Missoula County Courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Its south foyer is usually graced by a series of eight murals painted by famed western artist, Edgar S. Paxson, between 1912 and 1914. The Courthouse and annex are undergoing a long-overdue renovation. The Paxson paintings will be reinstalled upon completion of the renovation in 2016.

Missoula County is governed by a Board of County Commissioners, consisting of three elected members who serve six-year staggered terms. All legislative, executive and administrative powers and duties of the local government, not specifically reserved by law or ordinance to other elected officials, reside in the Commission (MCA 7-3-401). The current board includes Nicole “Cola” Rowley – Chair for 2016 – Jean Curtiss and Stacy Rye. The Commissioners hold a public meeting on the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month at 1:30 p.m. in Admin B14, on the basement level of the Administration Building, located at 199 West Pine Street. Public comments are welcome and encouraged. Other elected officials include: County Auditor Barbara Berens, County Clerk & Recorder/ Treasurer Tyler Gernant, County Superintendent of Schools Erin Lipkind, County Attorney Kirsten Pabst, County Sheriff/Coroner TJ McDermott, Clerk of District Court Shirley Faust, County Justice of the Peace Marie Andersen, and County Justice of the Peace Karen Orzech, who will be retiring in July at which time an interim judge will take office.

The Missoula County Treasurer’s Office is the collection and distribution center for all taxes in Missoula County. Property taxes can be paid online by accessing Missoula County iTax through the online Property Tax payment system. Residents can also access property information and recorded documents through the Property Information System, renew motor vehicle registration, check the status of their ballot during an election, and register their cell phones for reverse 9‑1‑1 notifications on the County’s website.

Missoula County also provides public safety services, administers elections, manages community-based grant programs, promotes economic development through administration of tax increment finance districts, maintains roads and bridges, protects air and water quality, promotes community health, supports community councils and many other volunteer boards, develops and maintains community parks and trails, and offers community planning and development services.

These are just a few examples of the services that Missoula County provides. Additional information about all County departments and services may be found on our website, or by calling (406) 721-5700.
Provided by:
Missoula County
(406) 721-5700